Dealing with Being Hungry

I am less frenzied and hungry today than I have been lately.  I wonder if the extra craziness has been my hormones.  Anyway, today I am making a concentrated effort to slow down when I’m eating.  I’m trying to be more conscious of not inhaling my food and trying to swallow it first, before putting more food into my mouth.  This is easier said than done.  I always have a million things going on in my head so it’s hard to just stay focused on eating slowly.

I dislike being hungry.  I think my therapist would tell me that I need to frame that in a different way.  I need to stop looking at it as a negative, as something to be addressed at that moment.  Being hungry won’t kill me.  Logically, after eating throughout the day, I know that some hunger later in the day is not harmful to me.  But for some reason, the second I feel hungry I feel obligated to put something in my mouth.  I know that if I just wait 10 minutes or so, that the feeling will go away.  I know this, but I still have trouble dealing with it.

Whereas someone may just say in response to my feeling hungry – just eat something.  I don’t want to eat more and go over my calorie count.   I have maintained my weight for a little over a year now and know exactly how many calories my body needs to stay at this weight.  So eating more food is not an option.

Does anyone have any suggestions or tricks on how they get past that pseudo-hungry feeling without eating? 

2 comments so far

  1. innerpilgrimage on

    Ugh, ummm, I know the phantom hunger pains. The only trick I got to work so far was recognizing it’s not real. Then I try to let it go to my Higher Power and listen to my gut instinct.

    You seem to have the trick down . . . wait ten seconds. But I think it would be so nice never to have them again. I guess that’s why we have to work the steps for life–because if we don’t, it comes back. Having talked to people who’ve left OA after attending for years and have relapsed and come back (I met some in different meetings I attended), it’s a lifetime commitment to treat . . . like diabetes or athsma or a heart condition.

    • love2eatinpa on

      Agreed, ugh! I know the pains are not real, but I still feel compelled to put some food or drink into my mouth. The waiting 10 seconds or 10 minutes is great in theory, but I often forget to use the trick in the heat of the moment, which is often the case with us compulsive eaters. Yup, I have heard, and have embraced, from old-time OA’rs that this abstinence is a lifetime commitment. I’ve also heard from the old-timers that it gets even harder as you get older. Gee, can’t wait!


Comments are closed.

